© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann_CC-BY-SA

Ratingen

Green heart and still pole

The city of Ratingen convinces with a wide range of cultural and leisure activities as well as a varied surrounding area for active nature lovers. The calm pole between the metropolises of Rhine, Ruhr and Wupper is the largest city in the district of Mettmann, but due to the many forests, meadows and fields it has a landscape share of 75%.

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann_CC-BY-SA

The museum landscape in Ratingen

Visitors can enjoy an excellent selection of museums. in the Museum Ratingen Art enthusiasts can visit a collection of modern paintings and current temporary exhibitions on various topics. The popular Doll and toy museum in the Trinsenturm shows the colorful world of children from earlier times using toys and dolls that citizens have given to the museum.

In the cultural-historical Upper Silesian State Museum visitors learn more about the cultural heritage of Upper Silesia. That LVR Industrial Museum featuring the Cromford Textile Mill is one of the oldest preserved industrial plants in Germany. The five-storey cotton mill and the late baroque Cromford mansion are now both part of the LVR Industrial Museum. 

Stroll and feast

Ratingen market square with a fountain and lion sculpture and an old pharmacy in the background
© Stadt Ratingen

The beautiful market square in the center of Ratingen with its inviting breweries creates a very special atmosphere. The architectural monuments around the market square were completely restored after being destroyed in World War II. They make up the core of the historic city center, which is ideal for strolling and lingering in one of the many restaurants in Ratingen. In the restaurant The Krone Homberg Incoming guests can expect home-style cooking with a large selection of regional and seasonal dishes.

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann_CC-BY-SA

On the way in Ratingen

The scenic and very varied area around Ratingen invites you to go hiking and cycling in neanderland. The paths along the stream valleys are ideal for both easy and more demanding bike tours. The dense network of paths through extensive wooded areas and routes on sunny and landscaped loess terraces offers many different hiking routes for every requirement.

Discover culture and nature

In order to explore some of Ratingen's sights and natural beauty on foot, there are two neanderland STEIG discovery loops that can be hiked for leisurely exploration or for active relaxation. Of the “Industrial Trail and Art Trail" as “Pure ratings" connect to the neanderland STEIG Stage 8 and stage 9 and lead through the urban area of ​​Ratingen.

Explore Ratingen

Funky town

Ratingen

Lintorf all-weather pool

Ratingen

© CC-BY-SA | Stadtwerke Ratingen GmbH

Eissporthalle Ratingen

Ratingen

© CC-BY-SA | Maik Grabosch Creations, G. Bayer Eissporthalle

Playground at Sandbach

Ratingen

© CC-BY-SA | Maik Grabosch - maikgrabosch.de

Upper Silesian State Museum

Ratingen

© Oberschlesisches Landesmuseum

Museum Ratingen

Ratingen

© Museum Ratingen, Andreas Wünkhaus

Heidoli / Beverages Doppstadt GmbH

Ratingen

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

dragon playground

Ratingen

© Maik Grabosch Creations, maikgrabosch.de

Hinkesforst playground

Ratingen

© Maik Grabosch Creations, maikgrabosch.de

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann_CC-BY-SA

Ratingen

Grünes Herz und ruhender Pol

Die Stadt Ratingen überzeugt mit einem vielfältigen Kultur- und Freizeitangebot sowie einem abwechslungsreichen Umland für aktive Naturverbundene. Der ruhende Pol zwischen den Metropolen Rhein, Ruhr und Wupper ist zwar die größte Stadt im Kreis Mettmann, besitzt durch die vielen Wälder, Wiesen und Felder jedoch einen Landschaftsanteil von 75%.

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann_CC-BY-SA

Die Museenlandschaft in Ratingen

Besuchende können sich an einer hervorragenden Auswahl an Museen erfreuen. Im Museum Ratingen können Kunstbegeisterte eine Sammlung an moderner Malerei und aktuelle Wechselausstellungen zu verschiedenen Themen besuchen. Das beliebte Puppen- und Spielzeugmuseum im Trinsenturm zeigt die bunte Kinderwelt aus früheren Zeiten anhand von Spielzeugen und Puppen, die Bürgerinnen und Bürger dem Museum überlassen haben.

Im kulturgeschichtlichen Oberschlesischen Landesmuseum lernen Besuchende mehr über das Kulturgut Oberschlesiens. Das LVR-Industriemuseum mit der Textilfabrik Cromford gehört zu einer der ältesten erhaltenen Industrieanlagen in Deutschland. Die fünfstöckige Baumwollspinnerei und das spätbarocke Herrenhaus Cromford gehören heute beide zum LVR-Industriemuseum. 

Schlendern und Schlemmen

Marktplatz von Ratingen mit einem Brunnen und Löwenskulptur und einer alten Apotheke im Hintergrund
© Stadt Ratingen

Ein ganz besonderes Ambiente verleiht der wunderschöne Marktplatz in der Ratinger Innenstadt mit seinen einladenden Brauhäusern. Die Baudenkmäler rings um den Marktplatz wurden nach der Zerstörung im Zweiten Weltkrieg wieder vollständig restauriert. Sie machen den Kern der historischen Innenstadt aus, die sich zum Schlendern und Verweilen in einem der vielen Restaurants in Ratingen anbietet. Im Restaurant Die Krone Homberg erwartet Einkehrende gutbürgerliche Küche mit einer großen Auswahl an regionalen und saisonalen Speisen.

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann_CC-BY-SA

In Ratingen unterwegs

Zum Wandern und Radeln im neanderland lädt das landschaftlich schöne und sehr abwechslungsreiche Umland von Ratingen ein. Die Wege entlang der Bachtäler eignen sich hervorragend sowohl für einfache als auch anspruchsvollere Fahrradtouren. Das dichte Wegenetz durch weiträumig bewaldete Flächen und Strecken auf sonnigen und landschaftlich bewirteten Lössterrassen hält viele unterschiedliche Wanderstrecken für jeden Anspruch bereit.

Kultur und Natur entdecken

Um einige Sehenswürdigkeiten und Naturschönheiten von Ratingen zu Fuß zu erkunden, gibt es zwei neanderland STEIG Entdeckerschleifen, die zur gemütlichen Erkundung oder zur aktiven Erholung erwandert werden können. Der „Industriepfad und Kunstweg" sowie „Ratingen Pur" knüpfen an die neanderland STEIG Etappe 8 und Etappe 9 an und führen durch das Stadtgebiet von Ratingen.

Ratingen erkunden

Funky Town

Ratingen

Allwetterbad Lintorf

Ratingen

© CC-BY-SA | Stadtwerke Ratingen GmbH

Eissporthalle Ratingen

Ratingen

© CC-BY-SA | Maik Grabosch Creations, G. Bayer Eissporthalle

Spielplatz Am Sandbach

Ratingen

© CC-BY-SA | Maik Grabosch - maikgrabosch.de

Oberschlesisches Landesmuseum

Ratingen

© Oberschlesisches Landesmuseum

Museum Ratingen

Ratingen

© Museum Ratingen, Andreas Wünkhaus

Heidoli / Getränke Doppstadt GmbH

Ratingen

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Gut Grashaus

Ratingen

© Kreis Mettmann

Drachenspielplatz

Ratingen

© Maik Grabosch Creations, maikgrabosch.de

Hinkesforst Spielplatz

Ratingen

© Maik Grabosch Creations, maikgrabosch.de

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.