© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann
Logo neanderland CLIMB

hiking stages

Each section is a little journey

From the hilly landscape of Niederberg to the Rhine plain - with its varied vegetation and its cultural landscape features, the 17 stages of the neanderland STEIGs an incomparable hiking experience. You can easily plan your tour using the app or our hiking map. Explore layers of rock millions of years old or historic trade routes on your day hike. Visit picturesque half-timbered towns, baroque palaces and moated castles. How about a hike in the beautiful Windrath valley or a relaxing break at the Abtskücher pond? Or follow the traces of industrial culture at original locations and in museums. With different lengths, levels of difficulty and main topics, there is something for everyone. There are also hardly any limits when it comes to overnight accommodation: from a hotel to camping in the open air - the choice is yours. The arrival and departure is comfortable and environmentally friendly by bus and train.

The neanderland CLIMB

Haan

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Stage 01: Haan-Gruiten - Wülfrath

Haan

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Stage 02: Wülfrath-Düssel - Velbert

Wuelfrath

© Stadt Velbert, Hans-Joachim Blißenbach

Stage 03: Velbert-Neviges - Velbert

Velbert

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Stage 05: Velbert-Nierenhof - Velbert

Velbert

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Stage 06: Velbert - Essen-Kettwig

Velbert

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Stage 07: Essen-Kettwig - Mülheim-Selbeck

Essen

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Stage 10: Ratingen-Homberg - Erkrath

Ratingen

© Kreis Mettmann, Martina Chardin

Stage 11: Erkrath - Hilden

Erkrath

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Stages at a glance

On the detailed pages of the individual stages you can download the GPX tracks onto your computer in order to take a closer look at the course or to find your way directly with your smartphone or navigation device. Download the neanderland STEIG app with all stage information, navigation and more directly on your smartphone.

Simply there & away

by bus & train

The neanderland STEIG is excellently connected to the local public transport network. No matter which stage you choose, you will always return to your starting point by bus or train. For your individual planning, we recommend the timetable information of the Deutsche Bahn and the local transport associations under www.vrr.de and www.vrsinfo.de as well as In www.bahn..

What you should definitely see

hiking app

© Kreis Mettmann

TYPICAL neanderland

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Circular routes in neanderland

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann_CC-BY-SA

Travel Inspirations

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Wanderetappen

Jeder Abschnitt eine kleine Reise

Von der niederbergischen Hügellandschaft bis zur Rheinebene – mit ihrer abwechslungsreichen Vegetation und ihren kulturlandschaftlichen Besonderheiten bieten die 17 Etappen des neanderland STEIGs ein unvergleichliches Wandererlebnis. Mithilfe der App oder unserer Wanderkarte können Sie Ihre Tour bequem planen. Erkunden Sie auf Ihrer Tageswanderung Millionen Jahre alte Gesteinsschichten oder historische Handelswege. Besuchen Sie malerische Fachwerkstädtchen, barocke Schlösser und Wasserburgen. Wie wäre es mit einer Wanderung im traumhaften Windrather Tal oder mit einer entspannten Rast am Abtskücher Teich? Oder begeben Sie sich an Originalschauplätzen und in Museen auf die Spuren der Industriekultur. Mit unterschiedlichen Längen, Schwierigkeitsgraden und Themenschwerpunkten ist für alle etwas dabei. Auch in Punkto Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten sind kaum Grenzen gesetzt: vom Hotel bis zum Kampieren unter freiem Himmel – Sie haben die Wahl. Die An- und Abreise ist bequem und umweltfreundlich mit Bus und Bahn möglich.

Der neanderland STEIG

Haan

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Etappe 01: Haan-Gruiten - Wülfrath

Haan

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Etappe 02: Wülfrath-Düssel - Velbert

Wülfrath

© Stadt Velbert, Hans-Joachim Blißenbach

Etappe 03: Velbert-Neviges - Velbert

Velbert

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Etappe 05: Velbert-Nierenhof - Velbert

Velbert

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Etappe 06: Velbert - Essen-Kettwig

Velbert

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Etappe 10: Ratingen-Homberg - Erkrath

Ratingen

© Kreis Mettmann, Martina Chardin

Etappe 11: Erkrath - Hilden

Erkrath

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Etappen im Überblick

Auf den Detailseiten der einzelnen Etappen können Sie sich die GPX-Tracks auf Ihren Computer herunterladen, um sich den Verlauf genauer anzusehen oder sich direkt auf dem Weg mit Ihrem Smartphone oder Navigationsgerät zu orientieren. Laden Sie sich die neanderland STEIG-App mit allen Etappeninfos, Navigation und mehr direkt auf Ihr Smartphone.

Einfach Hin & Weg

mit Bus & Bahn

Der neanderland STEIG ist hervorragend an das öffentliche Nahverkehrsnetz angeschlossen. Egal welche Etappe Sie wählen, Sie kommen immer mit Bus oder Bahn zu Ihrem Ausgangspunkt zurück. Für Ihre individuelle Planung empfehlen wir die Fahrplanauskunft der Deutschen Bahn und der Nahverkehrsverbünde unter www.vrr.de und www.vrsinfo.de sowie www.bahn.de.

Was Sie sich unbedingt anschauen sollten

Rundwege im neander­land

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann_CC-BY-SA

TYPISCH neanderland

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Wander-App

© Kreis Mettmann

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.