LVR Industrial Museum - Cromford Textile Factory and Poensgen Park

PDF

museum/exhibition

The Cromford textile factory is embedded in an old English landscape park, situated directly on the Anger river.

The epoch of early industrialization between 18 and 1750 is told in the original buildings from the 1850th century using the impressive history of the Brügelmann cotton mill, the first factory on the European continent.

The LVR Industrial Museum is the only one in the world that shows the processing of cotton as a raw material into the finished yarn with machines from this era that are faithfully reproduced. Visitors can experience the machines in action during demonstrations and immerse themselves in the working and living environment of one of the wealthiest entrepreneurial families of the 18th century in an exhibition in the baroque manor house.

The museum regularly presents special exhibitions on the cultural history of fashion and clothing. The Poensgenpark adjoining the museum is part of the street of garden art between the Rhine and Maas and is a listed building.

Good to know

Opening hours

Good Friday, Easter Monday, Whit Monday, All Saints' Day closed

Weiberfastnacht closed until carnival Tuesday

Company holidays Christmas Eve to New Year
Days off: Monday

General Information

  • Parking lots available

  • Bus stop available

fitness

  • Bad weather offer

  • for any weather

  • for groups

  • for school classes

  • for families

  • for individual guests

  • suitable for seniors

  • for children (any age)

  • Suitable for prams

  • for children (0-3 years)

  • for children (3-6 years)

  • for children (6-10 years)

  • for children (from 10 years)

foreign languages

German

Other equipment/furnishings

  • toilet facility

Barrierefreiheit

Accessibility checked
People with walking disabilities (partly)
Accessibility tested - partly barrier-free for people with walking disabilities
Widely accessible for people with walking disabilities or wheelchairs, barrier-free toilets, parking spaces and elevator available

Hygiene and infection control measures

The current hygiene and infection protection measures of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia apply.

Arrival & Parking

Directions coming from the A3/A44:
Leave the A3 at the Ratingen-Ost junction and change to the A44 in the direction of Düsseldorf. Then take exit 34 “Ratingen Ost”. Driving in the direction of Düsseldorf, turn right at the traffic lights onto the L422 in the direction of Ratingen. Coming from Düsseldorf, turn left at the traffic lights onto the L422 in the direction of Ratingen. Follow the road to the second major intersection. Turn right here to stay on the L422. At the fourth intersection, turn right onto the L139. Take the second right to get to the large parking lot at the Blue Lake.

Leave the A52 at the Ratingen exit. Driving in the direction of Düsseldorf, get into the left lane at the traffic lights and turn left onto the L422 in the direction of Ratingen. Coming from Düsseldorf, turn left at the first traffic light onto the K2. At the second traffic light, get in the right lane and turn right onto the L422 in the direction of Ratingen. Follow the road for about 4 kilometers. Then turn left at the second major intersection onto the L139. Take the second right to get to the large parking lot at the Blue Lake.

Line 773
From the "Blauer See" bus stop to the museum (signposted footpath):
For buses coming from Ratingen, go back in the opposite direction and turn right at the first opportunity. For buses going in the direction of Ratingen, continue along the road in the direction of travel and turn right at the first opportunity. Then follow the signposted footpath to the museum via Cromforder Allee (there is a sign and gates at the beginning of the avenue). Go through the gateway in front of the mansion. On the right is the Hohe Fabrik with the main entrance to the museum.

Social Media

Price information

Price adult: 5€
Reduced price: €4
Free entry every 1st Friday of the month
Groups of 10 or more people €4 pp
Children and young people up to the age of 18 free of charge
school classes free of charge
refugees for free

Organization

Nearby

LVR Industrial Museum - Cromford Textile Factory and Poensgen Park

24-26 Cromforder Ave
40878 Ratingen

0049 2234 992 155 5

http://www.industriemuseum.lvr.de/

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

LVR-Industriemuseum - Textilfabrik Cromford und Poensgenpark

PDF

Museum/Ausstellung

Eingebettet in einen alten englischen Landschaftspark, unmittelbar am Flüsschen Anger gelegen, befindet sich die Textilfabrik Cromford.

In den Originalgebäuden aus dem 18. Jahrhundert wird die Epoche der Frühindustrialisierung zwischen 1750 und 1850 anhand der eindrucksvollen Geschichte der Baumwollspinnerei Brügelmann, der ersten Fabrik auf dem europäischen Kontinent, erzählt.

Das LVR-Industriemuseum ist das weltweit einzige, das die Verarbeitung vom Rohstoff Baumwolle zum fertigen Garn mit originalgetreu nachgebauten Maschinen aus dieser Epoche zeigt. Besucher können die Maschinen bei Vorführungen in Aktion erleben und im barocken Herrenhaus in einer Ausstellung in die Arbeits- und Lebenswelt einer der wohlhabendsten Unternehmerfamilien des 18. Jahrhunderts eintauchen.

Das Museum präsentiert regelmäßig Sonderausstellungen zur Kulturgeschichte der Mode und Bekleidung. Der an das Museum anschließende Poensgenpark ist Teil der Straße der Gartenkunst zwischen Rhein und Maas und steht unter Denkmalschutz.

Gut zu wissen

Öffnungszeiten

Karfreitag, Ostermontag, Pfingstmontag, Allerheiligen geschlossen

Weiberfastnacht bis Karnevalsdienstag geschlossen

Betriebsferien Heiligabend bis Neujahr
Ruhetage: Montag

Allgemeine Informationen

  • Parkplätze vorhanden

  • Bushaltestelle vorhanden

Eignung

  • Schlechtwetterangebot

  • für jedes Wetter

  • für Gruppen

  • für Schulklassen

  • für Familien

  • für Individualgäste

  • Senioren geeignet

  • für Kinder (jedes Alter)

  • Kinderwagentauglich

  • für Kinder (0-3 Jahre)

  • für Kinder (3-6 Jahre)

  • für Kinder (6-10 Jahre)

  • für Kinder (ab 10 Jahre)

Fremdsprachen

Deutsch

Sonstige Ausstattung/Einrichtung

  • WC-Anlage

Barrierefreiheit

Barrierefreiheit geprüft
Menschen mit Gehbehinderung (teilweise)
Barrierefreiheit geprüft – teilweise barrierefrei für Menschen mit Gehbehinderung
für Menschen mit Gehbehinderung oder Rollstuhl weitestehend zugänglich, barrierefreie Toiletten, Parkplätze und Aufzug vorhanden

Hygiene- und Infektionsschutzmaßnahmen

Es gelten die aktuellen Hygiene- und Infektionsschutzmaßnahmen des Landes NRW.

Anreise & Parken

Anfahrtsbeschreibung von der A3/A44 kommend:
Die A3 am Kreuz Ratingen-Ost verlassen und auf die A44 in Richtung Düsseldorf wechseln. Dann die Ausfahrt 34 „Ratingen Ost“ nehmen. In Richtung Düsseldorf fahrend an der Ampel rechts abbiegen auf die L422 in Richtung Ratingen. Aus Richtung Düsseldorf kommend an der Ampel links abbiegen auf die L422 in Richtung Ratingen. Der Straße bis zur zweiten großen Kreuzung folgen. Hier rechts abbiegen, um auf der L422 zu bleiben. An der vierten Kreuzung rechts abbiegen auf die L139. An der zweiten Möglichkeit rechts abbiegen, um auf den großen Parkplatz am Blauen See zu kommen.

Die A52 an der Ausfahrt Ratingen verlassen. In Richtung Düsseldorf fahrend an der Ampel links einordnen und links abbiegen auf die L422 in Richtung Ratingen. Aus Richtung Düsseldorf kommend an der ersten Ampel links abbiegen auf die K2, an der zweiten, darauffolgenden Ampel rechts einordnen und rechts abbiegen auf die L422 in Richtung Ratingen. Der Straße für circa 4 Kilometer folgen. Dann an der zweiten großen Kreuzung links abbiegen auf die L139. An der zweiten Möglichkeit rechts abbiegen, um auf den großen Parkplatz am Blauen See zu kommen.

Linie 773
Von der Haltestelle „Blauer See“ zum Museum (beschilderter Fußweg):
Bei Bussen aus Richtung Ratingen gehen Sie entgegen der Fahrtrichtung zurück und biegen bei der ersten Möglichkeit nach rechts ab. Bei Bussen in Richtung Ratingen gehen Sie in Fahrtrichtung die Straße weiter und biegen ebenfalls bei der ersten Möglichkeit rechts ab. Dann dem beschilderten Fußweg zum Museum über die Cromforder Allee folgen (am Anfang der Allee befindet sich ein Hinweisschild und Gängelgitter). Vor dem Herrenhaus durch die Tordurchfahrt gehen. Rechts liegt die Hohe Fabrik mit dem Haupteingang des Museums.

Social Media

Preisinformationen

Preis Erwachsener: 5€
Preis ermäßigt: 4€
Eintrittsfrei jeden 1. Freitag im Monat
Gruppen ab 10 Personen 4€ p.P.
Kinder & Jugendliche bis 18 Jahre kostenlos
Schulklassen kostenlos
Flüchtlinge kostenlos

Organisation

In der Nähe

Unterkünfte

Sehenswertes

Museum Ratingen
Museum/Ausstellung
Deusser-Haus – Sammlung zur Heimatgeschichte
Museum/Ausstellung
Römisches Museum Haus Bürgel
Museum/Ausstellung

Touren

LVR-Industriemuseum - Textilfabrik Cromford und Poensgenpark

Cromforder Allee 24-26
40878 Ratingen

0049 2234 992 155 5

http://www.industriemuseum.lvr.de/

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.