© Stadt Erkrath

Erkrath

The gateway to the Neandertal

Erkrath - the town where the world-famous Neanderthal man was found! The Neandertal, which extends through the town of Erkrath, among other things, is not only a spacious recreational area, but was also the site where skeletal parts of primeval humans were found in 1856. The Homo sapiens neanderthalensis was then named after the place where it was found in the former limestone quarry, which can still be visited today.  

 

Hiking in Erkrath

Erkrath is characterized by an excellent infrastructure, a natural environment and an optimal location in neanderland. In addition to the Neandertal, the Stinderbachtal and the Unterbacher See on the outskirts of Erkrath are among the most popular recreation areas. There are numerous opportunities for walks and hikes across fields and through forests. If you want to combine art with a walk, walk the sculpture path along the Düssel. This is about two kilometers long and barrier-free. The signage is in Braille (Braille).

© Kreis Mettmann, Martina Chardin

culture and cuisine

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

In the Stellarium Erkrath - that's the name of the adventure planetarium Observatory Neanderhöhe Hochdahl e. V – you can enjoy a view of space. Digital Sky-Skan technology enables realistic full-dome video projection. Another attraction is the restored locomotive shed in Hochdahl, where the Railway and local history museum Erkrath-Hochdahl eV located. In addition to the vehicle exhibition, the popular leisure destination is supplemented by an attached restaurant with a beer garden and a playground. In addition to the exhibitions, changing events such as the Erkrath Jazz Summer or a Christmas market take place here.

Relaxation and deceleration are also provided. Visit one of the many restaurants in the city of Erkrath or spend the night in the modern one, for example Essensio Hotel or in the family Hotel Unterfeldhaus.

© Stadt Erkrath

On the way in Erkrath

These three neanderland STEIG discovery loops are recommended for hikes through the city of Erkrath: "Alt-Erkrath Monument Route", "Hochdahl Monument Route" and "Panoramaweg Haus Unterbach". The circular hikes promise active relaxation along the sights of Erkrath.

Explore Erkrath

Bee educational trail - The Neander bee

Erkrath

© CC-BY-SA | Die NeanderBiene, Kjell Richter

Neanderbad

Erkrath

© CC-BY-SA | Stadtwerke Erkrath GmbH, Neanderbad

Observatory Neanderhöhe Hochdahl

Erkrath

© Sternwarte Neanderhöhe Hochdahl e.V. , Ralph Orange

Archery School Dusseldorf

Erkrath

© FAIR EVENTS 10.0 GmbH, Hartmut Vogel

Museum Locomotive Shed

Erkrath

stone age playground

Erkrath

© Neanderthal Museum, Holger Neumann Bochum Germany

House Morph

Erkrath

© Peter zum Kolk

The Neander bee

Erkrath

© CC-BY-SA | Die NeanderBiene, Kjell Richter

Ice Age game reserve in the Neandertal

Erkrath

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

© Stadt Erkrath

Erkrath

Das Tor zum Neandertal

Erkrath – die Stadt mit dem Fundort des weltberühmten Neandertalers! Das Neandertal welches sich unter anderem durch die Stadt Erkrath erstreckt, ist nicht nur eine weiträumige Erholungslandschaft, sondern war 1856 auch Fundort von Skelettteilen des urtümlichen Menschen. Der Homo sapiens neanderthalensis wurde daraufhin nach seiner Fundstelle im ehemaligen Kalksteinbruch benannt, die bis heute besichtigt werden kann.  

 

Wandern in Erkrath

Erkrath zeichnet sich mit einer hervorragenden Infrastruktur, einer naturnahen Umgebung und einer optimalen Lage im neanderland aus. Neben dem Neandertal zählen das Stinderbachtal und der Unterbacher See am Rande von Erkrath zu den vielbesuchten Erholungsgebieten. Es gibt zahlreiche Gelegenheiten für Spaziergänge und Wanderungen über Felder und durch Wälder. Wer Kunst mit einem Spaziergang verbinden möchte, läuft den Skulpturenweg entlang der Düssel. Dieser ist ca. zwei Kilometer lang und barrierefrei. Die Beschilderung ist in Brailleschrift (Blindenschrift) angelegt.

© Kreis Mettmann, Martina Chardin

Kultur und Kulinarik

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Im Stellarium Erkrath – so heißt das Erlebnisplanetarium der Sternwarte Neanderhöhe Hochdahl e. V. – kann man einen Blick ins Weltall genießen. Die digitale Sky-Skan Technik ermöglicht eine realistische Ganzkuppel-Videoprojektion. Eine weitere Sehenswürdigkeit ist der restaurierte Lokschuppen in Hochdahl, wo sich das Eisenbahn- und Heimatmuseum Erkrath-Hochdahl e.V. befindet. Das beliebte Freizeitziel wird neben der Fahrzeugausstellung noch durch ein angeschlossenes Restaurant mit Biergarten und einem Spielplatz ergänzt. Neben den Ausstellungen finden hier wechselnde Veranstaltungen wie der Erkrather Jazzsommer oder ein Weihnachtsmarkt statt.

Für Entspannung und Entschleunigung ist auch gesorgt. Kehren Sie in eines der vielen Restaurants in der Stadt Erkrath ein oder übernachten Sie zum Beispiel im modernen Essensio Hotel oder im familiären Hotel Unterfeldhaus.

© Stadt Erkrath

Unterwegs in Erkrath

Für Wanderungen durch das Stadtgebiet von Erkrath empfehlen sich diese drei neanderland STEIG Entdeckerschleifen: „Denkmalroute Alt-Erkrath“, „Denkmalroute Hochdahl“ und „Panoramaweg Haus Unterbach“. Die Rundwanderungen versprechen aktive Erholung entlang der Sehenswürdigkeiten von Erkrath.

Erkrath erkunden

Die NeanderBiene

Erkrath

© CC-BY-SA | Die NeanderBiene, Kjell Richter

Steinzeitspielplatz

Erkrath

© Neanderthal Museum, Holger Neumann Bochum Germany

Haus Morp

Erkrath

© Peter zum Kolk

Eiszeitliches Wildgehege im Neandertal

Erkrath

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Neanderkirche

Erkrath

Bienenlehrpfad - Die NeanderBiene

Erkrath

© CC-BY-SA | Die NeanderBiene, Kjell Richter

Neanderbad

Erkrath

© CC-BY-SA | Stadtwerke Erkrath GmbH, Neanderbad

Bogenschule Düsseldorf

Erkrath

© FAIR EVENTS 10.0 GmbH, Hartmut Vogel

Museum Lokschuppen

Erkrath

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.