© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann_CC-BY-SA

Wuelfrath

Natural idyll with historical character

The townscape of Wülfrath is characterized equally by modern development and mountain cosiness. The smallest town in the north-east of the district of Mettmann impresses with its Niederberg flair and lively idyll. Exciting local recreation areas, cultural and sports activities as well as numerous opportunities for active leisure activities fill the modern jewel of neanderland with life.

 

© Kreis Mettmann, Martina Chardin

On the trail of the past

A special highlight is the Time tunnel: In the 160 meter long, former mining tunnel of the Bochum quarry, 400 million years of geological history and the history of the Wülfrath lime industry can be experienced. The extraordinary atmosphere of the outdoor museum is rounded off by a spectacular view of the disused Schlupkothen quarry and ensures a unique experience.

The lovingly designed exhibition in the Niederbergisches Museum provides insights into the living and working world in the 19th century and addresses the industrial methods of the Wülfrath lime industry. In a very traditional way, hungry visitors can also let themselves be spoiled by a Bergisch coffee table.

Sport, nature and culture

It's the mix that counts

Two cyclists on a gravel path along green nature from a frog's perspective
© Kreis Mettmann, Martina Chardin

In addition to those interested in culture, active guests also get their money's worth: the idyllic hilly landscape of the Niederberg region not only invites you to relax, but above all to go hiking and cycling. On the Niederbergbahn panoramic cycle path cyclists can reach Heiligenhaus and Essen-Kettwig via Velbert on former railway lines with a slight incline.

The Wülfrather water world, a modern swimming pool in the heart of the city centre, young and old are guaranteed to have very special fun on the water slide or the diving towers. An exciting day can be ended in a relaxed manner in the attractive sauna area.

Partial section of the tree-lined body of water of the Schlupkothen in the former quarry in Wülfrath
© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann_CC-BY-SA


Nature lovers will discover disused and active limestone quarries and impressive flora and fauna in Wülfrath. The surroundings, shaped by old industrial culture, promise breathtaking views and a very special atmosphere. A trip to the Schlupkothen quarry with turquoise water that you can circumnavigate on a leisurely stroll. If you are interested in the exciting history of the origins of the earth, you will miss a visit to the time tunnels not around.

© Kreis Mettmann, Martina Chardin

experience history

Traditional festivals, events and Sunday shopping enliven the city center several times a year. All year round, the historically grown old town of the city of Wülfrath with its winding streets, picturesque half-timbered houses as well as modern buildings invites you to take a relaxed stroll through lovingly designed shops.

Explore Wuelfrath

Land Rover Experience Center Wuelfrath

Wuelfrath

© CC-BY-SA | APS GmbH / co Land Rover Experience Germany

Niederbergisches Museum Wuelfrath

Wuelfrath

© Trägerverein Niederbergisches Museum Wülfrath e.V.

Historic town center: Wülfrath

Wuelfrath

Climbing in the Bochumer Bruch quarry

Wuelfrath

Schlupkothen quarry

Wuelfrath

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Düssel honey

Wuelfrath

© Düssel-Honig

Bettina and Markus Wagner GbR

Wuelfrath

© Bettina und Markus Wagner GbR

The nature explorers

Wuelfrath

© Kreis Mettmann, Dominik Ketz

Wülfrath time tunnel

Wuelfrath

Wülfrather water world

Wuelfrath

© Stadt Wülfrath, Wülfrather Wasserwelt

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann_CC-BY-SA

Wülfrath

Naturnahe Idylle mit historischem Charakter

Das Stadtbild von Wülfrath ist gleichermaßen von moderner Entwicklung und bergischer Gemütlichkeit geprägt. Die kleinste Stadt im Nordosten des Kreises Mettmann besticht mit niederbergischem Flair und einer lebendigen Idylle. Erlebnisreiche Naherholungsgebiete, Kultur- und Sportangebote sowie zahlreiche Möglichkeiten zur aktiven Freizeitgestaltung füllen das moderne Kleinod des neanderlands mit Leben.

 

© Kreis Mettmann, Martina Chardin

Auf den Spuren der Vergangenheit

Ein besonderes Highlight ist der Zeittunnel: In dem 160 Meter langen, ehemaligen Abbautunnel des Bochumer Bruchs werden 400 Millionen Jahre Erdgeschichte die Historie der Wülfrather Kalkindustrie erlebbar gemacht. Die außergewöhnliche Atmosphäre des Outdoor-Museums wird durch einen spektakulären Ausblick in den stillgelegten Steinbruch Schlupkothen abgerundet und sorgt für ein einzigartiges Erlebnis.

Die liebevoll gestaltete Ausstellung im Niederbergischen Museum vermittelt Einblicke in die Lebens- und Arbeitswelt im 19. Jahrhundert und thematisiert die industriellen Methoden der Wülfrather Kalkindustrie. Ganz traditionell können sich hier auch hungrige Besucherinnen und Besucher von einer Bergischen Kaffeetafel verwöhnen lassen.

Sport, Natur und Kultur

Die Mischung macht´s

Zwei Fahrradfahrer auf einem Schotterweg entlang grüner Natur aus der Froschperspektive
© Kreis Mettmann, Martina Chardin

Neben Kulturinteressierten kommen auch aktive Gäste auf ihre Kosten: Die idyllische niederbergische Hügellandschaft lädt nicht nur zur Entspannung, sondern vor allem zum Wandern und Radfahren ein. Über den PanoramaRadweg niederbergbahn gelangen Fahrradfahrende auf ehemaligen Bahntrassen mit geringer Steigung über Velbert nach Heiligenhaus und Essen-Kettwig.

In der Wülfrather Wasser Welt, einem modernen Schwimmbad im Herzen der Innenstadt, erleben Groß und Klein garantiert einen ganz besonderen Spaß auf der Wasserrutschbahn oder den Sprungtürmen. In der attraktiven Saunalandschaft lässt sich ein aufregender Tag entspannt ausklingen.

Teilausschnitt des von Bäumen umsäumten Gewässers der Schlupkothen im ehemaligen Steinbruch in Wülfrath
© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann_CC-BY-SA


Naturbegeisterte entdecken in Wülfrath stillgelegte sowie aktive Kalksteinbrüche und eine eindrucksvolle Flora und Fauna. Die von alter Industriekultur geprägte Umgebung verspricht atemberaubende Ausblicke und eine ganz besondere Atmosphäre. Besonders lohnenswert ist ein Ausflug zum Steinbruch Schlupkothen mit türkisfarbenem Wasser, den man bei einem gemütlichen Spaziergang umrunden kann. Wer sich für die spannende Entstehungsgeschichte der Erde interessiert, kommt um einen Besuch des Zeittunnels nicht herum.

© Kreis Mettmann, Martina Chardin

Historisches erleben

Mehrmals im Jahr beleben traditionelle Feste, Veranstaltungen und verkaufsoffene Sonntage die Innenstadt. Ganzjährig lädt die historisch gewachsene Altstadt der Stadt Wülfrath mit ihren verwinkelten Gassen, malerischen Fachwerkhäusern ebenso wie modernen Bauten zum entspannten Bummel durch liebevoll gestaltete Ladenlokale ein.

Wülfrath erkunden

Land Rover Experience Center Wülfrath

Wülfrath

© CC-BY-SA | APS GmbH / co Land Rover Experience Germany

Niederbergisches Museum Wülfrath

Wülfrath

© Trägerverein Niederbergisches Museum Wülfrath e.V.

Historischer Ortskern: Wülfrath

Wülfrath

Klettern im Steinbruch Bochumer Bruch

Wülfrath

Steinbruch Schlupkothen

Wülfrath

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Düssel-Honig

Wülfrath

© Düssel-Honig

Bettina und Markus Wagner GbR

Wülfrath

© Bettina und Markus Wagner GbR

Die Naturentdecker

Wülfrath

© Kreis Mettmann, Dominik Ketz

Zeittunnel Wülfrath

Wülfrath

Wülfrather Wasser Welt

Wülfrath

© Stadt Wülfrath, Wülfrather Wasserwelt

Volkshochschule Mettmann - Standort Wülfrath

Wülfrath

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann, CC BY SA

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.