© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann_CC-BY-SA

Mettmann

The Neanderthal City

The city of Mettmann stands for a unique cultural offering, friendly hospitality and a beautiful green belt. The optimal location in the middle of the Rhine-Ruhr metropolitan region benefits good connections for guests and the approximately 40.000 residents. Mettmann is the capital of the Mettmann district and therefore the beating heart of the region neanderland. 

© Neanderthal Museum

Visiting the Neanderthals

One of the most famous sights in Mettmann is the world-famous Neanderthal Museum. In the multimedia permanent exhibition, children and adults learn more about the history of the origins of mankind. Lifelike figures of Neanderthals, listening experiences, PC stations and other exhibits illustrate the current research results from archeology and paleanthropology. In addition, exciting workshops, guided tours and activity programs are offered.

On the trail of history in nature

In addition to the award-winning museum, there is also the discovery site of the Neanderthal man, the Ice Age game reserve and the art way in the famous Neanderthal, right outside Mettmann's gates. The Neanderthal town of Mettmann is criss-crossed by idyllic hiking and walking trails, which, despite the slightly mountainous topography, offer attractive routes for every level. Numerous paths for hiking, jogging, cycling and inline skating invite you to relax in nature. In addition, two eventful ones lead neanderland STEIG discovery loops by Mettmann: the evolution path and a loop through that Stinderbachtal

Stop in the upper town

© Kreis Mettmann, Martina Chardin


The historic upper town of Mettmann invites you to stroll and linger in one of the many street cafes or restaurants. The ring of buildings around the St. Lambertus Church from the 12th century forms the focal point. After a leisurely stroll, hungry visitors can stop off at the City History House and enjoy a traditional Bergische Kaffeetafel .

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Culture and cuisine in Mettmann

The city organizes city festivals, sporting events and nationally known open-air events throughout the year. Those who would like to explore the region for several days can stay in one of the hotels in Mettmann. The conference and wellness hotel Good Höhne attaches great importance to seasonal and regional organic products and promises an all-round relaxing stay. If you like something a little more unusual, stay at the Road Stop Neanderthal with 27 different USA themed rooms.

Explore Mettmann

Neanderthal Museum

Mettmann

© CC-BY-SA | Stiftung Neanderthal Museum

Cave View Adventure Tower

Mettmann

© CC-BY-SA | Neanderthal Museum, Holger Neumann, gentura.de

Royal NHA UG

Mettmann

The Neandertal

Mettmann

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

St. Lambertus Church Mettmann

Mettmann

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann_CC-BY-SA

Mettmann

Die Neanderthal-Stadt

Die Stadt Mettmann steht für ein einzigartiges kulturelles Angebot, gesellige Gastfreundschaft und einen wunderschönen Grüngürtel. Die optimale Lage inmitten der Metropolregion Rhein-Ruhr begünstigt die gute Anbindung für Gäste und die rund 40.000 Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner. Mettmann ist die Hauptstadt des Kreises Mettmann und somit das schlagende Herz der Region neanderland. 

© Neanderthal Museum

Zu Besuch beim Neandertaler

Eines der bekanntesten Sehenswürdigkeiten in Mettmann ist das weltberühmte Neanderthal Museum. In der multimedialen Dauerausstellung erfahren Kinder und Erwachsene mehr über die Entstehungsgeschichte der Menschheit. Lebensechte Figuren von Neandertalern, Hörerlebnisse, PC-Stationen und weitere Exponate veranschaulichen die aktuellen Forschungsergebnisse aus der Archäologie und Paläanthropologie. Zusätzlich werden spannende Workshops, Führungen und Aktivprogramme angeboten.

In der Natur der Geschichte auf der Spur

Neben dem preisgekrönten Museum befinden sich auch die Fundstelle des Neandertalers, das Eiszeitliche Wildgehege und der Kunstweg im berühmten Neandertal, unmittelbar vor den Toren Mettmanns. Die Neanderthal-Stadt Mettmann ist von idyllischen Wander- und Spazierwegen durchzogen, die trotz der leicht bergigen Topografie attraktive Strecken für jeden Anspruch bieten. Zahlreiche Wege zum Wandern, Joggen, Fahrradfahren und Inlineskaten laden hier zur Erholung in der Natur ein. Zudem führen zwei erlebnisreiche neanderland STEIG Entdeckerschleifen durch Mettmann: der Evolutionspfad und eine Schleife durch das Stinderbachtal

Einkehren in der Oberstadt

beleuchteter Platz in der Oberstadt von Mettmann Abens mit Gastronomie in alten Schiefer- und Fachwerkhäusern und zwei Bäumen davor
© Kreis Mettmann, Martina Chardin


Die historische Oberstadt von Mettmann lädt zum Bummeln und Verweilen in einem der vielen Straßencafés oder Restaurants ein. Den Mittelpunkt bildet die Ringbebauung rund um die St. Lambertus-Kirche aus dem 12. Jahrhundert. Hungrige Besucherinnen und Besucher können nach einem gemütlichen Spaziergang im Stadtgeschichtshaus einkehren und eine traditionelle Bergische Kaffeetafel genießen.

© Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Kultur und Kulinarik in Mettmann

Die Stadt organisiert zu jeder Jahreszeit Stadtfeste, Sportveranstaltungen und überregional bekannte Open-Air-Events. Wer die Region gerne mehrtägig erkunden möchte, übernachtet in einem der Hotels in Mettmann. Das Tagungs- und Wellnesshotel Gut Höhne legt viel Wert auf saisonale und regionale Bio-Produkte und verspricht einen rundum entspannten Aufenthalt. Wer es etwas außergewöhnlicher mag, übernachtet im Road Stop Neandertal mit 27 verschiedenen USA-Themenzimmern.

Mettmann erkunden

Neanderthal Museum

Mettmann

© CC-BY-SA | Stiftung Neanderthal Museum

Minigolfplatz Neandertal

Mettmann

© CC-BY-SA | Miniaturgolf Neandertal

Gut Schobbenhaus

Mettmann

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Historischer Ortskern: Mettmann

Mettmann

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Golfclub Mettmann e.V.

Mettmann

© CC-BY-SA | Golfclub Mettmann e.V.

Erlebnisturm Höhlenblick

Mettmann

© CC-BY-SA | Neanderthal Museum, Holger Neumann, gentura.de

Honig-Manufaktur Neanderthal

Mettmann

© Honig-Manufaktur Neanderthal

Das Neandertal

Mettmann

© CC-BY-SA | Dominik Ketz, Kreis Mettmann

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.