Ice Age game reserve in the Neandertal

PDF

Wildlife park/wildlife enclosure

In the middle of the beautiful Neandertal nature reserve, replica breeds of aurochs and tarpans, which have been extinct in Europe for several centuries, live in the large and spacious outdoor enclosures of the Ice Age Neandertal game reserve.

The third animal species in the enclosure is the bison, the largest European land mammal. European bison have survived in zoos and enclosures and the population has been secured through targeted breeding and reintroduction projects. In the Neandertal, the animals are kept in herds with one male animal each, so that visitors can look forward to offspring every year. The enclosure is accessible around the clock and free of charge. A leisurely circular hike takes about 1,5 hours. Benches, information boards and beautiful views invite you to linger and enjoy.

Good to know

Opening hours

open all day

fitness

  • for families

Price information

Eintritt frei

author

Office for Culture and Tourism

Düsseldorfer Strasse 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

Organization

our recommendation

Nearby

Ice Age game reserve in the Neandertal

Thekhauser jellyfish 2
40699 Erkrath

http://www.wildgehege-neandertal.de/

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

Eiszeitliches Wildgehege im Neandertal

PDF

Wildpark/Wildgehege
Mitten im schönen Naturschutzgebiet Neandertal leben in den großen und weitläufigen Freigehegen des Eiszeitlichen Wildgeheges Neandertal Abbildzüchtungen von Auerochsen und Tarpanen, die in Europa schon seit mehreren Jahrhunderten ausgestorben sind.
Die dritte Tierart des Geheges ist der Wisent, das größte europäische Landsäugetier. Wisente haben in Zoos und Gehegen überlebt und der Bestand wurde durch gezielte Zucht- und Auswilderungsprojekte gesichert. Im Neandertal werden die Tiere in Herden mit je einem männlichen Tier gehalten, so dass sich die Besucher jedes Jahr über Nachwuchs freuen können. Das Gehege ist rund um die Uhr und kostenlos zugängig. Eine gemütliche Rundwanderung dauert ca. 1,5 h. Bänke, Informationstafeln und wunderschöne Ausblicke laden zum Verweilen und Genießen ein.

Gut zu wissen

Besucheraufkommen

Öffnungszeiten

durchgehend geöffnet

Eignung

  • für Familien

Preisinformationen

Eintritt frei

Autor:in

Amt für Kultur und Tourismus

Düsseldorfer Straße 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

info@neanderland.de

Organisation

Kreis Mettmann

Unsere Empfehlung

Erlebniswelt Neandertal
Archäologische Stätte

In der Nähe

Eiszeitliches Wildgehege im Neandertal

Thekhauser Quall 2
40699 Erkrath

hegemeister@kreis-mettmann.de

Website

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.