Discovery loop monument route Hochdahl

GPX

PDF

7,99 km long
theme trail

The discovery loop "Denkmalroute Hochdahl" not only tells the historical development of Hochdahl, but also leads to the Neanderthal Museum, which tells the history of mankind from the beginnings in the African savannahs more than four million years ago to the present in an extremely exciting and lively way.

Today's settlement structure in Hochdahl developed in two phases. The first resulted from the construction of the railway in 1841. The favorable transport situation and the lime deposits in the Neandertal led to the founding of a large ironworks. The normally grown social order - a village character shaped by agriculture and forestry - is shaped by the iron industry. The second stage developed from 1960 through replanning for the districts of Hochdahl, Trills, Millrath and Unterfeldhaus. The diversity of the planning offices involved, the large participation of citizens, associations and the authorities ultimately had a very positive effect on the development. In this urban expansion, which was completed in 1995, cultural objects are of great importance as commemorative values. They fulfill a bridging function between the historically grown past and the still historically unencumbered present of the new housing estates.

Current note: 
Sections of the trail near the Neanderthal Museum are closed due to erosion. 

Good to know

Visitor volume

Arrival & Parking

 Hochdahl S-Bahn station

Public transportation

S-Bahn station Hochdahl Lines S8, O5, 06

author

Office for Culture and Tourism

Düsseldorfer Strasse 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

info@neanderland.de

Organization

waypoints

Ice Age game reserve in the Neandertal
Wildlife park/wildlife enclosure
The Neandertal
Historical site
Neander Church
Church

our recommendation

Nearby

tour dates
Start: Hochdahl S-Bahn station
Destination: Hochdahl S-Bahn station

medium

02:15 p.m

7,99 km

137m

137m

60m

137m

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

Entdeckerschleife Denkmalroute Hochdahl

GPX

PDF

Themenweg
7,99 km lang

Die Entdeckerschleife „Denkmalroute Hochdahl“ erzählt nicht nur die historische Entwicklung von Hochdahl, sondern führt auch zum Neanderthal Museum, welches die Geschichte der Menschheit von den Anfängen in den afrikanischen Savannen vor mehr als vier Millionen Jahren bis in die Gegenwart äußerst spannend und lebendig erzählt.

Die heutige Siedlungsstruktur Hochdahls entstand in zwei Phasen. Die erste ergab sich durch den Bau der Eisenbahn 1841. Die günstige Transportsituation und das Kalkvorkommen im Neandertal führten zur Gründung einer großen Eisenhütte. Die normal gewachsene gesellschaftliche Ordnung – ein dörflicher Charakter geprägt von Land- und Forstwirtschaft - wird geprägt von der Eisenindustrie. Die zweite Etappe entwickelte sich ab 1960 durch eine Neuplanung für die Stadtteile Hochdahl, Trills, Millrath und Unterfeldhaus. Die Vielfalt der beteiligten Planungsbüros, eine große Beteiligung von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern, Vereinen und den Behörden haben sich letztendlich sehr positiv auf die Entwicklung ausgewirkt. In dieser 1995 beendeten Stadterweiterung fallen Kulturobjekte als Erinnerungswerte verbindend ins Gewicht. Sie erfüllen eine Brückenfunktion zwischen dem historisch gewachsenen der Vergangenheit und der noch geschichtlich unbelasteten Gegenwart der Neubausiedlungen.

Aktueller Hinweis: 
Durch Erosion sind Teilstücke des Weges in Nähe des Neanderthal Museums gesperrt. 

Gut zu wissen

Anreise & Parken

 S-Bahnhof Hochdahl

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

S-Bahnhof Hochdahl Linien S8, O5, 06

Autor:in

Amt für Kultur und Tourismus

Düsseldorfer Straße 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

Organisation

Auf der Route

Wegpunkte

Eisenbahn- und Heimatmuseum Erkrath-Hochdahl
Museum/Ausstellung

In der Nähe

Unsere Empfehlungen

Essen & Trinken

Unterkünfte

Pauschale

Sehenswertes

Neanderthal Museum
Museum/Ausstellung

Touren

Tourdaten
Start: S-Bahnhof Hochdahl
Ziel: S-Bahnhof Hochdahl

mittel

02:15:00 h

7,99 km

137 m

137 m

60 m

137 m

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.