Discovery loop traces of lime

GPX

PDF

8,67 km long
theme trail
Limestone mining shaped the structure of Gruiten until the 1970s and was of great importance for the region. This tour not only gives an idea of ​​old relics from the time of limestone quarrying, it also shows the transformation of Gruiten into an idyll, situated in the middle of beautiful nature. Diverse impressions make the hiking route a delightful experience.

The route starts in the picturesque village of Gruiten at the "Haus Am Quall", the oldest profane building in Haan. The hike now leads out of the village along the Düssel over a former railway line, which used to be the path from five quarries to the works.

On the path through the idyllic Düsseltal, limestone quarrying can be seen again and again on the rock faces that line the path to the left and right. Almost the entire topography was shaped by the lime industry. The path runs past former canteen buildings in the direction of Winkelsmühle. On this part of the trail, the ruins of the historic Hupertsbracken lime kiln, restored around 1980, are particularly impressive. 

After a refreshing break in the "Im cool reason" inn, you will reach the Ehlenbeck farm. At this point, where agriculture is practiced today, there was a lime sintering plant until 1932, the plant in Lindenbeck with the highest chimney in Germany at the time. In this place, which can be described as the cradle of industrial lime processing in Gruiten, parts of the remains are still visible today.

The way back now leads out of the valley, past the ruins of a ring kiln and further traces of the extensive and diverse transport network. Back in the village of Gruiten, a short tour is worthwhile. The elevated cemetery offers a magnificent view over the historic village.

Good to know

Visitor volume

Arrival & Parking

Pastor-Vömel-Strasse/corner of Mettmanner Strasse, 42781 Haan-Gruiten

Public transportation

From Gruiten train station, take bus line 641 and 742 to the Gruiten-Kirche stop.

author

Office for Culture and Tourism

Düsseldorfer Strasse 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

info@neanderland.de

Organization

our recommendation

Nearby

tour dates
Start: Gruiten village, 42781 Haan
Destination: Gruiten village, 42781 Haan

medium

02:30 p.m

8,67 km

93m

100m

98m

155m

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

Entdeckerschleife Kalkspuren

GPX

PDF

Themenweg
8,67 km lang

Der Kalkabbau prägte die Struktur Gruitens bis in die 1970er Jahre und war von großer Bedeutung für die Region. Auf dieser Tour lassen sich nicht nur alte Relikte aus der Zeit des Kalkabbaus erahnen, sie zeigt auch den Wandel Gruitens hin zu einem Idyll, gelegen in mitten herrlicher Natur. Vielseitige Eindrücke machen die Wanderroute zu einem reizvollen Erlebnis.

Im malerischen Dorf Gruiten startet die Route am " Haus Am Quall", dem ältesten, profanen Gebäude Haans. Die Wanderung führt nun aus dem Dorf hinaus entlang der Düssel über eine ehemalige Eisenbahntrasse, über die früher der Weg von fünf Steinbrüchen zu den Werken verlief.

Auf dem Pfad durch das idyllische Düsseltal lässt sich immer wieder an den Felswänden, die links und rechts den Weg säumen, der Kalkabbau erahnen. Fast die gesamte Topografie wurde durch die Kalkindustrie geformt. Vorbei an ehemaligen Kantinengebäuden verläuft der Weg in Richtung Winkelsmühle. Auf diesem Teil des Weges lässt sich besonders eindrucksvoll die um 1980 restaurierte Ruine des historischen Kalkofens Hupertsbracken entdecken. 

Nach einer erfrischenden Pause im Gasthof "Im kühlen Grund" erreicht man den Bauernhof Ehlenbeck. An dieser Stelle, an der heute Landwirtschaft betrieben wird, bestand bis 1932 eine Kalksinterei, das Werk in der Lindenbeck mit dem damals höchsten Kamin Deutschlands. An diesem Ort, der als Wiege der industriellen Kalkverarbeitung Gruitens bezeichnet werden kann, sind die Überreste heute noch in Teilen sichtbar.

Der Rückweg führt nun aus dem Tal, vorbei an den Ruinen eines Ringofens und weiteren Spuren des umfangreichen und vielfältigen Transportnetzes. Zurück im Dorf Gruiten lohnt hier ein kleiner Rundgang. Der höher gelegene Friedhof ermöglicht einen herrlichen Blick über das historische Dorf.

Gut zu wissen

Anreise & Parken

Pastor-Vömel-Str./Ecke Mettmanner Straße, 42781 Haan-Gruiten

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Vom Bahnhof Gruiten mit der Buslinie 641 und 742 bis Haltestelle Gruiten-Kirche.

Autor:in

Amt für Kultur und Tourismus

Düsseldorfer Straße 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

Organisation

In der Nähe

Unsere Empfehlungen

Unterkünfte

Sehenswertes

Touren

Tourdaten
Start: Gruiten-Dorf, 42781 Haan
Ziel: Gruiten-Dorf, 42781 Haan

mittel

02:30:00 h

8,67 km

93 m

100 m

98 m

155 m

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.