Haan inner city route discovery loop

GPX

PDF

11,60 km long
theme trail
The discovery loop "Haaner Innenstadtroute" is moderately difficult at 11,7 km and shows the green side of the garden city despite the occasional urban environment. The route leads through listed, quiet oases in the city center, through lovely brook valleys, over secluded forest paths and romantic heathland. Nature lovers will also get their money's worth.

The start and end point is at Windhövel, the westernmost end of the historic old town. From here you first head south through the listed Ville d'Eu park, past Karl-August-Jung-Platz through the Musikantenviertel, one of the most sought-after residential areas in Haan. 

The route now leaves the urban part and leads into the secluded Ittertal. The Schaafenkotten, the Bruchermühle and the Brucherkotten, which lie along the way, bear witness to the early industrial use of the Itter for grain processing and knife sharpening. Casparsbroich Castle can also be admired along the way. A wonderful heath landscape, the largest in the district of Mettmann, stretches around the 106 meter high Sandberg, which is already on the Hilden urban area. 

After another loop through the Hilden city forest, the hiking trail leads into the landscape protection area of ​​the Sandbachtal. A variety of paths run upstream, some of which are urban or lead through lovely landscapes, back towards the garden city.

The Schillerpark, an attractive natural experience in the middle of the surrounding buildings, forms the conclusion before you dive back into city life. Listed buildings in the style of typical Bergisch architecture, small owner-managed shops and cozy restaurants invite you to take a stroll through Haan afterwards.

Good to know

Visitor volume

Arrival & Parking

Schillerstraße underground car park and other underground car parks in the city centre

Public transportation

Haan train station, PB 48 - 10 min walk
Bus lines 784, 792, O1 to the Windhövel stop

author

Office for Culture and Tourism

Düsseldorfer Strasse 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

info@neanderland.de

Organization

our recommendation

Nearby

tour dates
Start: Windhoevel, 42781 Haan
Destination: Windhoevel, 42781 Haan

medium

02:44 p.m

11,60 km

92m

90m

78m

161m

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

Entdeckerschleife Haaner Innenstadtroute

GPX

PDF

Themenweg
11,60 km lang

Die Entdeckerschleife "Haaner Innenstadtroute" ist mit ihren 11,7 km mittelschwer und zeigt trotz zeitweiser städtischer Umgebung die grüne Seite der Gartenstadt. Die Route führt durch denkmalgeschützten, ruhige Oasen in der Innenstadt, durch liebliche Bachtäler, über abgeschiedene Waldwege und romantische Heideflächen. Auch Naturbegeisterte kommen auf ihre Kosten.

Der Start-und Endpunkt liegt am Windhövel, dem westlichsten Ende der historischen Altstadt. Von hier aus geht es zunächst südwärts durch den denkmalgeschützten Park Ville d'Eu, am Karl-August-Jung-Platz vorbei durch das Musikantenviertel, eine der begehrtesten Wohngegenden Haans. 

Die Route verlässt nun den städtischen geprägten Teil und führt in das abgeschiedene Ittertal. Der Schaafenkotten, die Bruchermühle und der Brucherkotten, die im Verlauf des Wegesrandes liegen, zeugen von der frühen industriellen Nutzung der Itter zur Getreideverarbeitung und Messerschleiferei. Das Schloss Casparsbroich lässt sich ebenfalls am Wegesrand bestaunen. Um den bereits auf Hildener Stadtgebiet liegenden 106 Meter hohen Sandberg erstreckt sich eine wunderbare Heidelandschaft, die größte im Kreis Mettmann. 

Nach einer weiteren Schleife durch den Hildener Stadtwald führt der Wanderweg in das Landschaftschutzgebiet des Sandbachtals. Bachaufwärts laufen abwechslungsreiche Pfade, die teilweise städtisch geprägt sind oder durch liebliche Landschaften führen, wieder Richtung Gartenstadt.

Der Schillerpark, ein attraktives Naturerlebnis inmitten der umgebenden Bebauuung bildet den Ausklang, bevor man zurück in das städtische Leben eintaucht. Denkmalgeschützte Bauten im Stil der typisch bergischen Architektur, kleine inhabergeführte Läden und gemütliche Gastronomie laden zu einem anschließenden Stadtbummel durch Haan ein.

Gut zu wissen

Anreise & Parken

Tiefgarage Schillerstraße sowie weitere Tiefgaragen in der Innenstadt

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Bahnhof Haan, PB 48 - 10 min Fußweg
Buslinien 784, 792, O1 zur Haltestelle Windhövel

Autor:in

Amt für Kultur und Tourismus

Düsseldorfer Straße 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

Organisation

In der Nähe

Unsere Empfehlungen

Veranstaltung

Essen & Trinken

Unterkünfte

Pauschale

Haaner GartenLust e.V.
Gruppen-Angebot/Familien-Angebot

Sehenswertes

Haaner Felsenquelle
Handwerklicher Schaubetrieb
Haaner GartenLust e.V.
Park/Gartenanlage
Park Ville d'Eu
Park/Gartenanlage

Touren

Tourdaten
Start: Windhövel, 42781 Haan
Ziel: Windhövel, 42781 Haan

mittel

02:44:00 h

11,60 km

92 m

90 m

78 m

161 m

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.