House Morph

PDF

monument

The former moated castle on the historic "Mauspfad" long-distance route monitored a Düssel crossing. The name - first mentioned in 1144 as "marafa" - means "moor (mar-)" and "flowing water (-afa)". The first owner was the Vilich Abbey near Bonn, which was followed in 1220 by the Gerresheim Abbey. 1282 Morp is mentioned as a tithe farm of the same named Honschaft.
The procession of the canonesses from Gerresheim on September 14 of each year points to a former chapel. From 1410 to 1676 the estate was owned by the Knights of Winkelhausen, then by the Counts of Hatzfeld, from whom Friedrich Grillo took it over in the 19th century.
More information at https://www.kuladig.de/objektansicht/kld-249728

Good to know

author

Office for Culture and Tourism

Düsseldorfer Strasse 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

Organization

Nearby

House Morph

Düsseldorfer Strasse 16
40699 Erkrath

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

Haus Morp

PDF

Denkmal

Die ehemalige Wasserburg am historischen Fernweg „Mauspfad“ überwachte einen Düsselübergang. Der Name - 1144 erstmals als „marafa“ erwähnt – bedeutet „Moor (mar-)“ und „fließendes Wasser (-afa)“. Erster Eigentümer war das Stift Vilich bei Bonn, dem 1220 das Stift Gerresheim folgte. 1282 wird Morp als Zehnthof der gleichnamigen Honschaft erwähnt.
Die Prozession der Stiftsdamen aus Gerresheim an jedem 14. September eines Jahres weist auf eine ehemalige Kapelle hin. 1410 - 1676 befindet sich das Gut im Besitz der Ritter von Winkelhausen, danach in dem der Grafen von Hatzfeld, von denen es im 19. Jh. Friedrich Grillo übernimmt.
Mehr Infos unter https://www.kuladig.de/objektansicht/kld-249728

Gut zu wissen

Autor:in

Amt für Kultur und Tourismus

Düsseldorfer Straße 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

Organisation

In der Nähe

Touren

Haus Morp

Düsseldorfer Strasse 16
40699 Erkrath

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.