The bookmaker

PDF

museum/exhibition

How does the word end up on paper, how is what is written duplicated and how is a book made out of loose sheets of paper?

At Hans Josef Altmann's in the "Der Gutenberg" bookmaker's shop, visitors can get to know the history of technology and culture from handwriting to book printing. With all their senses, young and old learn everything about book printing and the history of the Bible in workshops and lively lectures. Numerous hands-on offers make the craft tangible with reconstructions of historical machines, tools and materials and illustrate the origin of today's professions and cultural techniques. Special activities such as learning how to make folded letters for Valentine's Day and arts and crafts markets invite visitors to visit the museum.

Good to know

Opening hours

and by appointment
Closing days: Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday

fitness

  • Bad weather offer

  • for any weather

  • for groups

  • for school classes

  • for families

foreign languages

German

Payment options

Eintritt frei

Barrierefreiheit

Not barrier-free accessible

Hygiene and infection control measures

The current hygiene and infection protection measures of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia apply.

Arrival & Parking

Coming from the south Take exit 535-Tönisheide on the A3, continue north on Kuhlendahler Str. Continue on Hauptstraße, continue on Plückersmühle, continue on Vogteier Str., continue on Vosskuhlstraße. Turn right onto Kreiersiepen, turn right onto Mühlenstrasse. Die Buchmacherey is on the right-hand side.

Coming from the north on the A44, take exit 38-Langenberg, continue south on Rottberger Str. Continue on Bökenbuschstrasse, turn left onto Vogteier Strasse. Continue on Vosskuhlstrasse. Turn right onto Kreiersiepen, turn right onto Mühlenstraße. Die Buchmacherey is on the right-hand side.

author

Office for Culture and Tourism

Düsseldorfer Strasse 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

Organization

Nearby

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

Die Buchmacherey

PDF

Museum/Ausstellung

Wie kommt das Wort zu Papier, wie wird Geschriebenes vervielfältigt und wie wird aus losen Blättern ein Buch?

Bei Hans Josef Altmann in der Buchmacherey „Der Gutenberg“ können Besucherinnen und Besucher die Technik- und Kulturgeschichte von der Handschrift bis zum Buchdruck kennenlernen. Mit allen Sinnen erfahren Klein und Groß im Rahmen von Workshops und lebendigen Vorträgen alles über den Buchdruck und die Geschichte der Bibel. Zahlreiche Mitmachangebote machen das Handwerk mit Rekonstruktionen historischer Maschinen, Werkzeuge und Materialen greifbar und veranschaulichen den Ursprung heutiger Berufe und Kulturtechniken. Besondere Aktionen wie das Erlernen von Faltbriefen zum Valentinstag und Kunsthandwerkermärkte laden zu einem Besuch des Museums ein.

Gut zu wissen

Öffnungszeiten

und nach Vereinbarung
Ruhetage: Montag, Mittwoch, Freitag, Samstag, Sonntag

Eignung

  • Schlechtwetterangebot

  • für jedes Wetter

  • für Gruppen

  • für Schulklassen

  • für Familien

Fremdsprachen

Deutsch

Zahlungsmöglichkeiten

Eintritt frei

Barrierefreiheit

Nicht barrierefrei zugänglich

Hygiene- und Infektionsschutzmaßnahmen

Es gelten die aktuellen Hygiene- und Infektionsschutzmaßnahmen des Landes NRW.

Anreise & Parken

Von Süden kommend Auf A535 Abfahrt 3-Tönisheide nehmen, weiter auf Kuhlendahler Str. Richtung Norden fahren. Weiter auf Hauptstraße, weiter auf Plückersmühle, weiter auf Vogteier Str., weiter auf Vosskuhlstraße. Rechts abbiegen auf Kreiersiepen, rechts abbiegen auf Mühlenstraße. Die Die Buchmacherey befindet sich auf der rechten Seite.

Von Norden kommend auf A44 Abfahrt 38-Langenberg nehmen, weiter auf Rottberger Str. Richtung Süden fahren. Weiter auf Bökenbuschstraße, links abbiegen auf Vogteier Straße. Weiter auf Vosskuhlstraße. Rechts abbiegen auf Kreiersiepen, rechts abbiegen auf Mühlenstraße. Die Die Buchmacherey befindet sich auf der rechten Seite.

Autor:in

Amt für Kultur und Tourismus

Düsseldorfer Straße 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

Organisation

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.