Discovery loop Traces of the coal drivers

GPX

PDF

8,12 km long
theme trail
The discovery loop "Traces of the Coal Driver" combines nature, culture and sights in and around Velbert-Langenberg. The organic farms along the route in the Windrath Valley have farm shops where hikers can stock up on regional products. Cozy outdoor restaurants in the historic old town of Langenberg, the book town of Langenberg with numerous antiquarian bookshops, art and culture invite you to linger and rest.
The discovery loop leads from the 3rd stage of the neanderland STEIG to Velbert-Langenberg. The path leads through the natural and romantic Windrath valley past meadows and fields that are cultivated by farmers according to the criteria of organic farming.

The coal driver's paths from Essen-Kupferdreh via Velbert-Nierenhof and -Langenberg to Wuppertal-Dönberg and into the Bergisches Land previously led past these farms. The coal driver routes were the first transport routes of the early hard coal mining. The laborious transport of the black gold was carried out on horseback. Steep inclines had to be overcome, often the horse and coal driver could only walk one behind the other.

A part of the coal driver's path was replaced in 1831 by the "Prinz-Wilhelm-Bahn" railway line in the valley. Horses pulled the wagons from Kupferdreh to Kidney. Only with the extension to Wuppertal-Vohwinkel in 1847 were these replaced by steam locomotives. The paths of the coal drivers remained and are a reminder of this past.

Good to know

Visitor volume

Arrival & Parking

S-Bahn station Velbert - Langenberg

Public transportation

S-Bahn station Velbert - Langenberg, lines S9, 637, 647, OV6, OV7
Citizens bus Langenberg: www.buergerbus-langenberg.de

author

Office for Culture and Tourism

Düsseldorfer Strasse 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

info@neanderland.de

Organization

waypoints

forest climbing park
Climbing hall/climbing park/high ropes course
Tourist Information Velbert-Langenberg
Tourist information
Bismarck Tower Velbert
Viewpoint/lookout tower

our recommendation

Nearby

tour dates
Start: Panner Straße / corner of Straße des 17. Juni
Destination: Panner Straße / corner of Straße des 17. Juni

medium

02:17 p.m

8,12 km

152m

152m

106m

248m

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

Entdeckerschleife Spuren der Kohlentreiber

GPX

PDF

Themenweg
8,12 km lang

Die Entdeckerschleife „Spuren der Kohlentreiber“ verbindet Natur, Kultur und Sehenswürdigkeiten in und um Velbert-Langenberg. Die in biologischer Landwirtschaft geführten Höfe entlang der Route im Windrather Tal haben Hofläden, in denen Wandernde sich mit regionalen Erzeugnissen eindecken können. Gemütliche Außengastronomien in der historischen Altstadt Langenberg, die Bücherstadt Langenberg mit zahlreichen Antiquariaten, Kunst und Kultur laden zum Verweilen und Rasten ein.

Die Entdeckerschleife führt von der 3. Etappe des neanderland STEIGs nach Velbert-Langenberg. Durch das naturnahe und romantische Windrather Tal führt der Weg vorbei an Wiesen und Feldern, die von Landwirten nach Kriterien der biologischen Landwirtschaft bewirtschaftet werden.

Vorbei an diesen Höfen führten ehemals die Kohlentreiberwege von Essen-Kupferdreh über Velbert-Nierenhof und -Langenberg nach Wuppertal-Dönberg und ins Bergische. Die Kohlentreiberwege waren die ersten Transportwege des frühen Steinkohlebergbaus. Auf Pferderücken wurde der mühselige Transport des schwarzen Goldes abgewickelt. Starke Steigungen waren zu überwinden, oft konnten Ross und Kohlentreiber nur hintereinander laufen.

Ein Teil der Kohlentreiberwege wurde 1831 durch die Bahnlinie „Prinz-Wilhelm-Bahn“ im Tal ersetzt. Pferde zogen die Waggons von Kupferdreh nach Nierenhof. Erst mit der Verlängerung 1847 nach Wuppertal-Vohwinkel wurden diese durch Dampflokomotiven ersetzt. Die Wege der Kohlentreiber blieben und erinnern an diese Vergangenheit.

Gut zu wissen

Anreise & Parken

S-Bahnhof Velbert - Langenberg

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

S-Bahnhof Velbert - Langenberg, Linien S9, 637, 647, OV6, OV7
Bürgerbus Langenberg: www.buergerbus-langenberg.de

Autor:in

Amt für Kultur und Tourismus

Düsseldorfer Straße 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

Organisation

Auf der Route

Wegpunkte

Waldkletterpark
Kletterhalle/Kletterpark/Hochseilgarten
Tourist Information Velbert-Langenberg
Tourist-Information

In der Nähe

Unsere Empfehlungen

Essen & Trinken

Unterkünfte

Pauschale

Sehenswertes

Tourist Information Velbert-Langenberg
Tourist-Information

Touren

Tourdaten
Start: Panner Straße / Ecke Straße des 17. Juni
Ziel: Panner Straße / Ecke Straße des 17. Juni

mittel

02:17:00 h

8,12 km

152 m

152 m

106 m

248 m

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.