forest museum

PDF

museum/exhibition

The forest museum is located in the middle of the Heiligenhauser paradise - in the listed building of the former waterworks of the city.

Interested parties are informed here about how sensibly water and waste water can be used. Other subject areas include the history of drinking water supply, presenting current water supply in a way that can be experienced and illustrated, and of course pointing out environmental protection, sustainability and climate change

The forest museum is embedded in the existing Abtsküche museum landscape with the UBZ, the fire brigade museum and the local history collection in the Abtsküche museum.

Good to know

fitness

  • Bad weather offer

  • for any weather

  • for groups

  • for school classes

  • for families

foreign languages

German

Hygiene and infection control measures

The hygiene and infection protection measures of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia apply at this time.

Arrival & Parking

Car
Coming from north/south on A3 in 17-Dreieck Ratingen-Ost drive on A44 and exit directly at exit 34-Ratingen-Ost. Turn left onto Brachter Str. Continue onto Meiersberger Str., turn left onto Schöllersfeld, continue onto Ratinger Str., turn right onto Hauptstraße/B227. Turn left onto Bahnhofstrasse, turn right onto Nordring, turn left onto Herberger Weg. Turn left to stay on Herberger Weg, turn right on Im Paradies. The Forest Museum is on the left. Limited on-site parking.

public transport
Take the S6 to Ratingen Hösel. Continue with bus line 770 in the direction of Velbert ZOB, get off at the Heiligenhaus Abtskuecher Strasse stop. This is followed by a 13-minute walk of approximately 1,1 km. Go northeast on Südring towards Abtskuecker Str./B227, turn left onto Abtskuecker Str./B227, turn right onto Parkstraße, turn slightly left onto Nordring. Turn slightly right onto Herberger Weg, turn right to stay on Herberger Weg. Turn right onto Im Paradies, the Forest Museum is on the left.

author

Office for Culture and Tourism

Düsseldorfer Strasse 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

Organization

our recommendation

Environmental Education Center Heiligenhaus
museum/exhibition

Nearby

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

Waldmuseum

PDF

Museum/Ausstellung

Mitten im Heiligenhauser Paradies befindet sich das Waldmuseum – im denkmalgeschützten Gebäude des ehemaligen Wasserwerkes der Stadt.

Interessierte werden hier darüber informiert, wie sinnvoll mit Wasser und Abwasser umgegangen werden kann. Weitere Themenbereiche sind zudem die Geschichte der Trinkwasserversorgung, aktuelle Wasser-Bereitstellung erlebbar und anschaulich darzustellen sowie selbstverständlich auf Umweltschutz, Nachhaltigkeit und Klimawandel hinzuweisen

Eingebettet wird das Waldmuseum in die bereits bestehende Museumslandschaft Abtsküche mit dem UBZ, dem Feuerwehrmuseum und der heimatkundlichen Sammlung im Museum Abtsküche.

Gut zu wissen

Eignung

  • Schlechtwetterangebot

  • für jedes Wetter

  • für Gruppen

  • für Schulklassen

  • für Familien

Fremdsprachen

Deutsch

Hygiene- und Infektionsschutzmaßnahmen

Es gelten die zu diesem Zeitpunkt gültigen Hygiene- und Infektionsschutzmaßnahmen des Landes NRW.

Anreise & Parken

PKW
Von Norden/Süden kommend auf A3 im 17-Dreieck Ratingen-Ost auf A44 fahren und direkt an der Ausfahrt 34-Ratingen-Ost abfahren. Links abbiegen auf Brachter Str. Weiter auf Meiersberger Str., links abbiegen auf Schöllersfeld, weiter auf Ratinger Str., rechts abbiegen auf Hauptstraße/B227. Links abbiegen auf Bahnhofstraße, rechts abbiegen auf Nordring, links abbiegen auf Herberger Weg. Nach links abbiegen, um auf Herberger Weg zu bleiben, rechts abbiegen auf Im Paradies. Das Waldmuseum liegt auf der linken Seite. Eingeschränkte Parkmöglichkeiten vor Ort.

ÖPNV
Mit der S6 bis Ratingen Hösel fahren. Weiter mit Buslinie 770 Richtung Velbert ZOB, aussteigen an Haltestelle Heiligenhaus Abtskücher Straße. Es folgt ein 13-minütiger Fußweg von ca. 1,1 km. Auf Südring nach Nordosten Richtung Abtskücher Str./B227 gehen, links abbiegen auf Abtskücher Str./B227, rechts abbiegen auf Parkstraße, leicht links abbiegen auf Nordring. Leicht rechts abbiegen auf Herberger Weg, nach rechts abbiegen, um auf Herberger Weg zu bleiben. Rechts abbiegen auf Im Paradies, das Waldmuseum liegt links.

Autor:in

Amt für Kultur und Tourismus

Düsseldorfer Straße 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

Organisation

In der Nähe

Unsere Empfehlungen

Umweltbildungszentrum Heiligenhaus
Museum/Ausstellung

Unterkünfte

Pauschale

Stadtführung Ratingen
Gruppen-Angebot/Familien-Angebot

Sehenswertes

Museum Abtsküche
Museum/Ausstellung
Feuerwehrmuseum Heiligenhaus
Museum/Ausstellung

Touren

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.