Discovery loop Heiligenhauser Runde

GPX

PDF

7,78 km long
theme trail
The discovery loop "Heiligenhauser Runde" combines nature, culture and sights in and around Heiligenhaus and offers the perfect excursion for the whole family. The route impresses with its varied sections. The start of the hike first leads through a landscape that truly deserves its name. It is not for nothing that this small piece of earth is called "In Paradise". Enjoy the peace and let nature work its magic on you.

After a short distance past the former waterworks, which today houses a museum, you can stop off at the rustic café "Herberge". Then it's only slightly uphill over the Mühlenberg, where you will be rewarded with a magnificent view. The further way through the nature reserves Rinderbachtal and Vogelsangbachtal to the horse farm "Rossdelle" are easy to hike.

The path leads up to the city via the street with the curious name "An der Butterwelle". The nucleus of the town of Heiligenhaus is assumed to be on the church square. A floor slab embedded in the floor is reminiscent of the Hubertus Church that once stood here. A stroll through the traffic-calmed and bicycle-friendly city center along the main street to the town hall offers the visitor a good insight into the former street village "Hilghen Husse".

Via the former railway line, today's PanoramaRadweg Niederbergbahn, you come to the only wagon bridge in Germany. The former railway carriage is probably the most popular photo motif in Heiligenhaus. The hike runs along Abtskuecker Straße past the fire brigade museum down to the reservoir to the Abtskueche monument area. The farm café "Abtsküche" at the reservoir offers homemade cakes and rewards you with a wonderful view over the pond.


Good to know

Visitor volume

Author's tip

Right at the starting point is the Hofcafe Abtsküche with a beautiful garden for outdoor dining. Always fresh, homemade cakes and cake shops with a view of the reservoir to linger.

Arrival & Parking

Parking directly at the starting point

Public transportation

Bus to the Abtsküche bus lines 772 and 774

More information / links

Alternatively, you can return via the Niederbergbahn panorama cycle path. This cycle path runs below Kettwiger Straße and leads back to Abtskuecker Straße.

author

Office for Culture and Tourism

Düsseldorfer Strasse 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

info@neanderland.de

Organization

our recommendation

Nearby

tour dates
Start: Abtskücher Straße 30, 42579 Heiligenhaus
Destination: Abtskücher Straße 30, 42579 Heiligenhaus

medium

02:09 p.m

7,78 km

136m

138m

97m

181m

You seem to be using Microsoft's Internet Explorer Web browserto view our website.

For functionality and security reasons, we strongly recommend using an up-to-date web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera or Edge to use. Internet Explorer does not display all of the content on our website correctly and does not offer all of its functions.

Entdeckerschleife Heiligenhauser Runde

GPX

PDF

Themenweg
7,78 km lang

Die Entdeckerschleife „Heiligenhauser Runde“ verbindet Natur, Kultur und Sehenswürdigkeiten in und um Heiligenhaus und bietet den perfekten Ausflug für die ganze Familie. Die Route besticht durch Ihre abwechslungsreichen Abschnitte. Der Start der Wanderung führt zunächst durch eine Landschaft, die Ihren Namen wahrlich verdient hat. Nicht umsonst trägt dieses kleine Fleckchen Erde den Namen „Im Paradies“. Genießen Sie die Ruhe und lassen Sie die Natur auf sich wirken.

Nach kurzer Strecke vorbei am ehemaligen Wasserwerk, welches heute ein Museum beinhaltet, bietet sich eine Einkehr ins urige Café „Herberge“ an. Danach geht es nur leicht bergauf über den Mühlenberg, wo Sie mit einer herrlichen Aussicht belohnt werden. Der weitere Weg durch die Naturschutzgebiete Rinderbachtal und Vogelsangbachtal bis hin zum Reiterhof „Rossdelle“ sind leicht zu erwandern.

Über die Straße mit dem kuriosen Namen „An der Butterwelle“ führt der Weg hinauf in die Stadt. Am Kirchplatz wird die Keimzelle der Stadt Heiligenhaus vermutet. Eine in den Boden eingelassene Bodenplatte erinnert an die Hubertuskirche, die hier einmal gestanden hat. Ein Bummel durch die verkehrsberuhigte und fahrradfreundliche Innenstadt über die Hauptstraße bis zum Rathaus bietet dem Besucher einen guten Einblick in das ehemalige Straßendorf „Hilghen Huße“.

Über die ehemalige Bahntrasse, dem heutigen PanoramaRadweg niederbergbahn, kommt man zur einzigen Waggonbrücke Deutschlands. Der ehemalige Eisenbahnwaggon ist wohl das beliebteste Fotomotiv in Heiligenhaus. An der Abtskücher Straße verläuft die Wanderung hinab zum Stauteich zum Denkmalbereich Abtsküche. Das Hofcafé „Abtsküche“ am Stauteich bietet selbstgemachte Torten an und belohnt Sie mit einem wunderschönen Blick über den Teich.

Gut zu wissen

Tipp des Autors

Direkt am Startpunkt liegt das Hofcafe Abtsküche mit einem schönen Garten für die Außengastronomie. Immer frische, selbstgemachte Torten und Kuchenladen mit Blick auf den Stauteich zum Verweilen ein.

Anreise & Parken

Parkmöglichkeiten direkt am Startpunkt

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Bus zur Abtsküche Buslinien 772 und 774

Weitere Infos / Links

Alternativ bietet sich der Rückweg über den PanoramaRadweg niederbergbahn an. Dieser Radweg verläuft unterhalb der Kettwiger Straße und führt zurück bis zur Abtskücher Straße.

Autor:in

Amt für Kultur und Tourismus

Düsseldorfer Straße 26
40822 Mettmann

0049 2104 99-0

Organisation

In der Nähe

Unsere Empfehlungen

Veranstaltung

Essen & Trinken

Unterkünfte

Sehenswertes

Museum Abtsküche
Museum/Ausstellung

Touren

Tourdaten
Start: Abtskücher Straße 30, 42579 Heiligenhaus
Ziel: Abtskücher Straße 30, 42579 Heiligenhaus

mittel

02:09:00 h

7,78 km

136 m

138 m

97 m

181 m

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.